Wines

THE WINES

Single Vineyard Wines | Black Edition | Sekt

Brilliant Balance. To understand the essential character of each grape variety and each vineyard site, and to respect them: this is how wines that are in no way trendy come into being – but despite which will often inspire a new fashion.

The essence of the sites:
single vineyard wines

Our vines must root themselves into the soils for at least thirty years before their grapes can be harvested for our distinctive single vineyard wines. Only then, according to Marion & Manfred’s point of view, might one honestly speak of the ‘flavour of the soil’. This, in concert with varietal typicity, yields clearly defined results – the essence of the vineyard sites. This is why Marion and Manfred place great emphasis on traditional vinification and the factor of time: either 500-litre oak cask or stainless steel tank, depending. There are no tricks or artifice to interfere with the sense of authenticity that nature brings to a wine. These pure aesthetes are bottled in May after the harvest at the earliest – that much time is indeed necessary.

Grüner Veltliner
2019
B I O
16/20 Jancis Robinson
Award

read more 

Grüner Veltliner
“Weinviertler DAC” 2019
B I O
16,5/20 Jancis Robinson
90/100 Wine Enthusiast

read more 

Grüner Veltliner
“Hermanschachern” 2019
B I O IN THE CHANGE PERIOD
91/100 Falstaff
Award

read more 

Grüner Veltliner
“Bürsting” 2019
B I O
92/100 Falstaff

read more 

Grüner Veltliner
“Sauberg” 2019
B I O

92/100 Falstaff

read more 

Grüner Veltliner
“Alte Reben” 2019
B I O

93/100 Falstaff

read more 

Grüner Veltliner
“Bürsting MAGNUM” 2019
sold out

Grüner Veltliner
“Sauberg MAGNUM” 2019
on stock now

Grüner Veltliner
“Alte Reben MAGNUM” 2019
on stock now

Chardonnay
“Alte Geringen” 2019
B I O
17/20 Schweizerische WZ

read more 

Weißer Burgunder
“Alte Reben” 2019

B I O
91/100 Falstaff

read more 

Riesling
2019
B I O
91/100 Wine Enthusiast
16/20 Schweizerische WZ

read more 

Riesling
“Alte Reben” 2019
B I O
93/100 Falstaff
Award

read more 

Roter Traminer
“Maxendorf” 2018
16/20 Schweizerische WZ
Award
Award

read more 

Rosa Kalk 2019
CS | ME

B I O
91/100 Falstaff
Award

read more 

Zweigelt
“Alte Reben” 2016
Award
Award

read more 

Pinot Noir
2016
Award
Award

read more 

St. Laurent
“Alte Reben” 2017

Award
Award

read more 

Liquified elegance: the Black Edition

Highly limited, distinctive and prestigious: with the ‘Black Edition’ the winegrower couple goes into greater depth. Manfred’s great penchant for experimenting and his love of the Pinot family are the ideal godparents for these wines – even for Grüner Veltliner, which is able to attain a scarcely imaginable degree of complexity. Rigorous selection in the vineyard is necessary, as is a long time spent on the skins and subsequent élevage in French barriques with months of batonage followed by a period of bottle aging. Multifacetted and elegant wines are the result: profound and brilliant; great wines that demand to be decanted, since they are bottled without any filtration and need a great deal of oxygen. The visual effect is elegant as well, with its artisanally crafted design. Black on black, wearing a little black dress…

Grüner Veltliner
“Black Edition” 2017

94/100 Wine Enthusiast
18,5/20 Gault & Millau
95/100 A La Carte

read more 

Chardonnay
“Black Edition” 2018
94/100 Wine Enthusiast
91+/100 Robert Parker
17 von 20 Gault&Millau

read more 

Pinot Noir
“Black Edition” 2016

93/100 Robert Parker
18/20 Gault&Millau
92/100 Falstaff

read more 

Winegrowers’ handiwork – the point of perfection:
Sekt

A score of 95 points from the renowned trade magazine Wine Enthusiast speaks volumes: according to Gault&Millau, the Blanc de Blancs Zero Dosage is not only the best Sekt in Austria, but since December 2015 has ascended to the upper echelon of all sparkling wines, alongside great Champagnes such as Dom Pérignon, Taittinger and Krug. This is even more noteworthy, considering that vintage 2008 is the initial release (out of three thus far) of this impressive sparkler. Marion is an avowed fan of Krug, and one can taste this enthusiasm in the monovarietal Chardonnay Sekt. It spent seven years on the lees before being disgorged and then corked without any dosage. This natural beauty is as dry as dust, very assertive as a wine and exudes a fascinating sense of Francophile noblesse.

Blancs de Blancs
ZERO DOSAGE Vintage 2013

Sekt of the year at Gault&Millau

Weine

WEINE

Einzellagenweine | Black Edition | Sekt

Brillante Balance. Jede Rebsorte und Lage in ihrem Charakter verstehen und respektieren. So entstehen Weine, die nicht modisch sind, und doch oft genug neue Trends setzen.

Die Essenz der Lagen:
Einzellagenweine

Mindestens 30 Jahre lang müssen die Rebstöcke tief in den Boden wurzeln, damit ihre Trauben in die charakterstarken Weine mit Einzellagenbezeichnung kommen dürfen. Erst dann kann man nach Marions und Manfreds Auffassung wahrhaftig „vom Geschmack des Bodens“ sprechen. Kombiniert mit der Rebsortentypizität bringt das zum definierten Ziel: die Essenz der Lagen. Daher setzen Marion & Manfred auf den Faktor Zeit und traditionellen Anbau: 500-L-Eichenfässer oder Edelstahltanks, je nachdem. Kein Schnickschnack soll den Wein, wie die Natur ihn schenkt, verfälschen. Ihre „puren Ästheten“ werden frühestens im Mai nach der Ernte gefüllt – so viel Zeit muss sein.

Grüner Veltliner
2017

Grüner Veltliner
„Weinviertler DAC“ 2017

Grüner Veltliner
„Hermanschachern“ 2017

Grüner Veltliner
„Bürsting“ 2017

Grüner Veltliner
„Sauberg“ 2017

Grüner Veltliner
„Alte Reben“ 2017

Grüner Veltliner
„Bürsting MAGNUM“ 2016

17/20 Jancis Robinson

Grüner Veltliner
„Sauberg MAGNUM“ 2016

17.5/20 Jancis Robinson

Grüner Veltliner
„Alte Reben MAGNUM“ 2016

18/20 Jancis Robinson

Chardonnay
„Alte Geringen“ 2017

Comming soon

Weißer Burgunder
„Alte Reben“ 2016

18/20 Gault&Millau

Riesling
2017

Riesling
„Alte Reben“ 2017

Roter Traminer
„Maxendorf“ 2017

Comming soon

Rosa Kalk 2016
CS | ME

17/20 Jancis Robinson

Zweigelt
„Alte Reben“
2015

Pinot Noir
klassik
2015

St. Laurent
„Alte Reben“ 2013

18/20 Gault&Millau

Verflüssigte Eleganz: Black Edition

Streng limitiert, einzigartig und prestigeträchtig: Mit der „Black Edition“ geht das Winzerpaar noch mehr in die Tiefe. Manfreds große Experimentierfreude und Weinliebe, die Burgunder, stehen ideell Pate, selbst für den Grünen Veltliner, der dadurch eine ungeahnte Vielschichtigkeit erreicht. Extreme Selektion im Weingarten ist nötig, lange Maischestandzeiten und der darauffolgende Ausbau in französischen Barriques mit monatelanger Batonnage (Aufrühren der Hefe) und schlussendlich lange Flaschenreife. Facettenreiche elegante Weine sind das Ergebnis, tief, funkelnd, spannend. Weine, die unbedingt dekantiert werden sollten, da sie unfiltriert abgefüllt werden und viel Luft benötigen. Elegant ist auch das Erscheinungsbild, das ausschließlich in Handarbeit ausgeführt wird. Schwarz auf Schwarz im „kleinen Schwarzen“.

Grüner Veltliner
„Black Edition“ 2015

94/100 Falstaff

Chardonnay
„Black Edition“ 2015

93/100 Falstaff

Pinot Noir
„Black Edition“ 2013

94/100 A La Carte

Winzerhandwerk in Perfektion:
Sekt

95/100 Punkte vom renommierten Fachmagazin Wine Enthusiast sprechen Bände: Der Blanc de Blancs Zero Dosage ist laut Gault&Millau nicht nur der beste Sekt Österreichs, sondern seit Dezember 2015 auch in der Liga der größten Champagner wie Dom Pérignon, Taittinger oder Krug aufgestiegen. Umso beachtlicher, da der Jahrgang 2008 doch erst der dritte dieses beeindruckenden Schaumweins ist. Marion ist bekennende Krug-Liebhaberin und das schmeckt man dem reinsortigen Chardonnaysekt auch an. Sieben Jahre liegt er auf der Hefe, bevor er degorgiert und ohne Dosage verkorkt wird. Die Naturschönheit ist staubtrocken, sehr weinig und verströmt faszinierende französische Noblesse.

Blancs de Blancs
ZERO DOSAGE Vintage 2010

Sekt des Jahres bei Gault&Millau
Reservierungen für Jahrgang 2013 möglich.